Gujarat Garba Dance UNESCO Intangible Cultural Heritage Recognition


Garba, a traditional dance form of Gujarat, has been included in UNESCO’s list of ‘Intangible Cultural Heritage of Humanity’ (ICHH). Garba, which is performed during the Navaratri festival, is the 15th element from India to be included in the Intangible Cultural Heritage list.

The decision was taken during the recently held meeting of the Intergovernmental Committee for the Safeguarding of Intangible Cultural Heritage in Botswana’s Kasane. India had nominated Garba for inclusion in the list. 

In a statement, UNESCO called Garba a “ritualistic and devotional dance” that dedicated to the worship of the feminine energy or “Shakti”.

“Garba fosters social equality by diluting socio-economic, gender and religious structures. It continues to be inclusive of diverse and marginalized communities, thus strengthening social bonds,” the United Nations body said.

Making the announcement on X, Union Culture Minister G Kishan Reddy said the listing was a testimony to the tireless efforts of the government to showcase “our rich culture, traditions and heritage to the world”.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi said Garba’s “global acknowledgement” showcases to the world the beauty of Indian culture. “Garba is a celebration of life, unity and our deep-rooted traditions. This honour inspires us to preserve and promote our heritage for future generations,” PM Modi posted on X.

Chief Minister Bhupendra Patel called it a moment of pride for Gujaratis spread all over the world.

“The age-old tradition of devotion to Goddess Mother in the form of Garba is alive and growing…This is a result of importance being given to the heritage of the country under PM Narendra Modi’s leadership and such heritage being taken to the world,” Patel further said.


Mohd Aman

Editor in Chief Approved by Indian Government

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button